Bob Adair
Chair, Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property
Advisory Committee
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
(346) 477-5901 bob_adair@outlook.com

December 1, 2022

Mr. Jon Niermann, Chairman Ms. Emily Lindley, Commissioner Mr. Bobby Janecka, Commissioner Texas Commission on Environmental Quality P.O. Box 13087 Austin, TX 78711-3087

Dear Commissioners:

Subject: Advice for Expedited Review List and Tier I Table
Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property

Attached is the above referenced advice related to the current triennial review. The Committee sincerely appreciates you and other TCEQ staff's ongoing support to the Committee.

Please feel free to contact me or any member of the Advisory Committee to discuss this advice.

Respectfully,

B. G. Adair

Enclosures

c: TCEQ Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee members Cheryl Covone, TCEQ Advice to TCEO Regarding Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Law and Regulations By TCEQ Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee

Background

TCEO is required by law¹ and regulation² to conduct a review at least every three years of:

- Nonexclusive List in Tax Code §11.31(k) and Figure: 30 TAC §17.17(b); and
- Tier I Table in Figure: 30 TAC §17.14(a).

During a September 10, 2021 public meeting of the TCEO Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee, TCEQ staff explained the Commission last met its obligation to complete the triennial review in December 2020, and the next review is anticipated to be completed by December 2023. Staff requested any such advice be submitted from the Committee by December 31, 2022. The Committee requested from staff a list of common items in Tier II applications over the past three years that received positive use determinations as pollution control property. Staff complied with this request on December 22 and provided a triennial review summary. The Committee began its triennial review on November 12 and further included it on 2022 public meeting agendas for March 25, May 13, August 19, and November 10. The public was encouraged to submit relevant input to the Committee. On November 10, 2022, the Committee voted with no opposition for the advice provided below.

Advice

In compliance with the Committee's legal obligation³ "to advise the commission regarding the implementation of this section" (Tax Code §11.31), the Committee submits the following advice before the requested deadline.

1. No change to the Nonexclusive List in Tax Code §11.31(k) and Figure: 30 TAC §17.17(b); and

2. Add the following item to the Tier I Table in Figure: 30 TAC §17.14(a).

No.	Media	Property	Description	%
A- (number to be assigned by TCEQ)	Air	necessary to transfer impurities removed from natural gas to a	System components include the foul amine collection system used to collect amine that has absorbed impurities in the amine absorption system for transfer to the amine solvent regeneration system and the vent gas system that transfers to a final control device the impurities stripped from foul amine in the regeneration system. (Excludes the amine absorption system components that remove impurities from natural gas (methane) and the amine solvent regeneration system components used to recover amine for reuse in the amine absorption system).	100

¹ Texas Tax Code §11.31(1)

² 30 TAC §17.14(b)

³ Texas Tax Code §11.31(n)

Respectfully submitted December 1, 2022 on behalf of the Committee,

Bob Adair

Chair, TCEQ Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee

Members of the TCEQ Tax Relief for Pollution Control Property Advisory Committee As of November 10, 2022

Representing Industry:

Bob Adair, representing Texas Oil and Gas Association Michelle Carder, representing Texas Chemical Council Justin Hyland, representing Association of Electric Companies of Texas Martha Landwehr, representing Texas Association of Manufacturers Greg Maxim, with Cummings Westlake LLC Mike Nasi, representing Clean Carbon Technology Foundation of Texas

Representing Appraisal Districts:

Roland Bieber, retired Chief Appraiser for Jefferson County Appraisal District Hugh Landrum, Jr., with Hugh L. Landrum & Associates, Inc.

Representing a School District or Junior College District:

Lloyd Graham, Retired Superintendent of the La Porte Independent School District

Representing Taxing Units:

Adam Haynes, with the Texas Conference of Urban Counties Bill Longley, with the Texas Municipal League

Representing the Environmental Group:

Cyrus Reed, PhD, with the Sierra Club

Independent Technical Expert:

Charles Allred, an independent contractor

The Committee was appointed in compliance with Texas Tax Code §11.31(n), which states:

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality shall establish a permanent advisory committee consisting of representatives of industry, appraisal districts, taxing units, and environmental groups, as well as members who are not representatives of any of those entities but have substantial technical expertise in pollution control technology and environmental engineering, to advise the commission regarding the implementation of this section. At least one member of the advisory committee must be a representative of a school district or junior college district in which property is located that is or previously was subject to an exemption under this section. Chapter 2110, Government Code, does not apply to the size, composition, or duration of the advisory committee.

Approximately half of the Committee is appointed/reappointed every two years to four-year terms. Current terms expire December 31 of 2023 and 2025.